SSL Certificate

St. Paul's School for Girls

Grades 5-12 All-Girls Middle and Upper School

Visit Website

St. Paul's Lower & Preschool

Infants through Grade 4 Coed Preschool and Lower School

Visit Website

St. Paul's

Grades 5-12 All-Boys Middle and Upper School

You Are Here
Community Login

Request Information

About St. Paul's

seek truth, knowledge and excellence;
live by faith, compassion and integrity.

- St. Paul's School Mission

St. Paul's School is a 5th-12th-grade college-preparatory day school where boys thrive in an environment that provides a range of challenges and support. St. Paul’s School, St. Paul’s Pre and Lower School and St. Paul’s School for Girls, grades 5-12 share a 120-acre campus, an Episcopal affiliation, and a mission to develop the intellect and character of our students. The histories of the schools are deeply intertwined, resulting in a long-standing, family-like relationship. We are conveniently located in Brooklandville, Maryland,  on Falls Road off I-695.

Founded - 1849
Affiliation - Old St. Paul’s Episcopal Church, Baltimore, Maryland
Campus - 120 acres
Enrollment - 575
Faculty - 85
Student-Faculty Ratio - 7:1
Average Academic Class Size - 15-17
Graduates - 3,900
Operating Budget - $19 million
Students Receiving Financial Aid - 35%
Financial Aid Budget - $3,150,000 
Average Financial Aid Grant - $11,500
Endowment - $47 million 
Annual Giving - $1.56 million (2017-2018)

Professional Affiliations:

NACAC, AIMS, NAIS, CRIS, NAES, CAPE, MAESA, BEST, College Board, Orton Dyslexia Society

Board of Trustees 2018-2019

The St. Paul’s Schools

Board of Trustees


Rev. Mark A. Stanley, Chair 
Joanne P. Bartlett, Chief Executive Officer
Elizabeth S. Robinson, President
Elise A. Butler, SPSG ’83, Vice President
Steven B. Stenersen, SPS ’78, Vice President
Dana M. Foley, Co-Secretary
R. Carl Pohlhaus SP ’83, Co-Secretary
Brian C. Nelson, Co-Treasurer
Pamela S. Schutz, SPSG ’72, Co-Treasurer
Penny Bach Evins, Head of School, St. Paul’s School for Girls
David C. Faus, Head of School, St. Paul’s School

Tracy A. Bacigalupo
Ann S. Barry, SPSG ’76
Kim Goetze Burch, SPSG ’79
Timothy Burdette, SPS ’88
Scott D. Burger
William B. Chambers, SPS ’72
Jennifer L. Collins, SPSG ’95
George Russell Croft, SPS ’92
David Dunn
Mary Baker Edwards, SPSG ’77
Carlos Fernandez
Kathleen O. Gavin, SPSG ’79
Stephen W. Guy
C.F. Claflin Hall, SPS ’81
Susan G. Harris
John “Jack” Huppler
Gregory S. Hurlbrink
Leo Kelly
Dr. Marlene R. Miller
Keiffer J. Mitchell, Jr.
Keith Murray
Laurel Peltier
Michael L. Ponsi, SPS ’83
Suzanne Riedel
Kelly Nocher Riepe, SPSG ’01
Andrew D. Sawyers
Laura Scornavacca Schuebel, SPSG ’91
Sarah Schweizer
Robert W. Sharps
Joan Smith
Michael D. Sullivan
Joseph Sutton, SPS ’88
Nicole B. Swann
Ann Teaff
Stephen Van Besien, SPS ’81
James A. Vlk
John P. Waterhouse
Tehma Smith Wilson, SPSG ’96
Scott R. Winn

Gretchen Carroll, SPSG Parents' Association President
Jennie Ray, St. Paul's Parents' Association President
Haward Sawers Casewell '09, SPSG Alumnae Association President
Joshua Scheinker '92, St. Paul's Alumni Association President

Evelyn A. Flory, Ph.D., Honorary
George W. Gephart, Emeritus
Robert W. Hallett, Honorary
James A.C. Kennedy, Emeritus
Andrea B. Laporte, Emerita
Lila B. Lohr, Honorary
John T. (Jack) Ordeman, Honorary
W. James Price IV, SPS ’42, Emeritus
Mary Ellen Thomsen, Honorary
Mary Frances Wagley, Honorary

St. Paul’s School
11152 Falls Road 
P.O. Box 8100 
Brooklandville, Maryland 21022
powered by finalsite